top of page

Be Accessible to Yourself

“Saying no can be the ultimate self-care.”- Claudia Black

Its okay to say "no"

 Women wear many hats, and we may easily become preoccupied with our jobs, taking care of children, going to school, and other obligations. With all of the responsibilities that we have, we frequently find ourselves at the bottom of the priority list. I used to be a victim of this myself. I used to become so preoccupied with the things that were going on around me that I was on the edge of having a breakdown. I am not a mother, but I am familiar with what it is like to care for and assist in raising a child (my teenage sister). I discovered that I was prioritizing others over myself, which can be both a good and a bad thing. It has always been my love language to perform acts of service, and I have done it in a very natural way. If someone asks me to do anything for them, I will most likely agree to do it. It’s just my human nature. Although being constantly available to others has its advantages, such as demonstrating compassion and reliability, it also has its drawbacks, such as wearing oneself out and having one's own needs frequently neglected. If you can help others, it is always a wonderful thing to do, but it is also acceptable when you are unable to do so yourself. Having to say "no, I'm sorry, I'm not able to" or "not right now" is quite acceptable. This has been one of the most difficult things that I've had to learn so far in my life. To this day, I still have difficulty saying "no".  It is essential to not be accessible all the time.


“Rest and self-care are so important. When you take time to replenish your spirit, it allows you to serve others from the overflow. You cannot serve from an empty vessel.” ― Eleanor Brownn

Prioritize yourself

It is critical that you are easily accessible to yourself. In addition to women, this is necessary for men. Some days, it's simply necessary to turn your phone to "Do Not Disturb." Shop for a new outfit at your leisure. Take yourself out to a nice restaurant. Make an appointment for a manicure and pedicure. Go get a massage. Take time to pamper yourself! You are deserving of it! Making time for yourself is difficult when you are preoccupied with your regular tasks. I'm not talking about once a month; I'm talking about doing something for yourself on a regular basis. After all, you put forth the effort. Our minds are relieved when we set aside time for ourselves. The importance of self-care cannot be overstated. Extending yourself outside of your normal surroundings is also quite essential. Take frequent trips away from your typical environment, whether it's to the park or the beach. Last but not least, never feel guilty for prioritizing your own needs. Continue to be of service to others while maintaining a healthy work-life balance. Always make time for yourself!



Great News


I'm overjoyed to be able to share some exciting news regarding my site. Feedspot has named my blog as one of the Top 20 Body Positivity Blogs on the web, and I am thrilled! I'm overwhelmed with gratitude.



bottom of page