top of page

Toxicity, Stress and Negativity



"Never fear leaving a toxic environment. Be true and caring to yourself. Trust there is peace and positivity out there."
-Brendon Burchard

My work environment went from tolerable to intolerable

I've been a teacher for five years, and while there have been some highs and lows, for the most part, I've enjoyed my time in the classroom. Every since I was little girl, everyone around me knew that I would be in the education field. I simply have a natural ability to connect with and interact with children. Along with having a passion for education , I also have a passion for History. To this day, I am a firm believer that history is equally as important as math, science, language arts, and other subjects. It is critical that we learn from the past so that we may identify trends and avoid repeating the same mistakes in the future. As a result, I have been teaching Social Studies/History for the past five years and have greatly loved making the topic exciting and relatable for my students. It appears that I am just soo happy because i'm doing what I truly love.... Right???.... So, what exactly is the issue? The problem is everything that happens outside of my classroom. Now don't get me wrong, as a teacher, your students are going to get on your nerves and you are going to encounter children that are challenging.... that comes with the territory.. we know that. I can speak on behalf of the vast majority of North Carolina teachers when I declare that the problem is NOT the students. It is everything that exists outside of our four walls. First off, let me state the obvious, WE DO NOT GET PAID ENOUGH FOR THE WORK THAT WE DO. As a teacher, we wear many hats. We are educators, counselors, nurses, moms and fathers, and a variety of other professions. Summers simply aren't long enough for us. The profession of teaching has many rewards, but it is also physically and psychologically demanding.  In my opinion we should definitely be making six figures. A large number of teachers, in addition to not being paid adequately, do not receive adequate assistance from their administrations. I presently work at a school where my Executive Director has visited my classroom for the first time this month.  Its March....... we started school in August and not once this years has she checked on me (being that i'm new to the school) and asked if I needed anything. The last point that I want to talk about is toxicity. Working in a toxic workplace is something I'm now experiencing. I'm telling you, it's a battle for me to get out of bed in the morning because I don't want to go to work since my environment is so depleting, negative, and toxic. It just dampers my spirit. Negative employees, drama, cliques, racism, and favoritism have all played a role in creating this toxic working environment.


“When you decide to put yourself first, you make a choice to live authentically. You can nurture yourself, which in turn gives back more to the world. As you become the priority, you start to make choices based on what is right for you at that moment, not what is right for the rest of the world."

No Job is worth your mental and physical health

On March 23rd, I formally submitted my 30-day notice of resignation to my employer. The thought occurred to me that I could no longer allow my job to have power over me. I decided to take a leap of faith. Honestly, I have nothing planned up in terms of employment, but I have complete faith that God would make things happen for me since he has previously done so . Ever since I put that notice in, i've had the sensation that a weight has been lifted off my shoulders. It's as though I've risen above the surface of the sea and can finally breathe. I strongly disliked the person I was at my job. It began to have a significant impact on my kids, which was unfair to them. For the first time in my life, I put myself first. Of course, a part of me regrets abandoning my students and stepping away from my passion, but the sacrifice was simply not worth it anymore. The passion I have for teaching and the relationships I have formed with my students just wasn't enough.. and that is perfectly OK. God has something far greater and more wonderful in store for me. I'm really eager to embark on a new chapter in my professional life. If you find yourself in a scenario similar to mine, I advise you to put yourself first because you are important. At the end of the day no job should send you to an early grave.



bottom of page